About Fried Contemporary

Founded in 2005, Fried Contemporary is the leading art gallery in Pretoria under the directorship with Dr David Thom. It focuses on showcasing the very best of South African talent, from established to emerging artists.

The gallery has three dedicated rooms that exhibits different artists or group shows every month. The Collector’s Room (established in August 2014), being one of the main rooms in the gallery, mainly presents the work of professional artists to collectors and invited guests and the exhibitions run on a six week schedule. The gallery also invites young and established curators to put up exhibitions and it is used annually as a platform for our one-year internship programme applicants to put up their first curated exhibition.

The gallery’s first series of curated exhibitions, which started in October 2014, took place in three parts and  broadly focused on artists from Pretoria. The first, titled: ‘Capital Past’, looked at artists who had a strong connection to the city,  who either lived or worked in the capital for a significant part of their careers.  Artists included Alexis Preller; Anton van Wouw; Bettie Cillers-Barnard; Braam Kruger; Eduardo Villa; Ernest Cole; Frikkie Eloff; Gerard Sekoto; Jacobus Hendrik Pierneef; Lucky Madlo Sibiya; Robert Hodgins; Sydney Khumalo and Walter Whall Battiss. The second exhibition in the series, titled: ‘Capital Contemporary’, showcased a selection of works by artists who either studied or lived and worked here for a significant part of their careers, and who currently live somewhere else, either in another city in South Africa or another country. Examples of artists include: Abrie Fourie; Barbara Wildenboer; Barend De Wet; Cecil Heystek; Christiaan Diedericks; Claudette Schreuders; Colbert Mashile; David Goldblatt; Diana Hyslop; Donna Kukama; Egon Tania; Gerhard Marx; Hanneke Benade; Johann van der Schijff; Judith Mason; Kudzi Chiurai; Maja Marx; Minnette Vari; Norman Catherine; Richard Forbes; Wayne Barker and Wim Botha. The third exhibition in the series, titled: ‘Capital Present’, looked at artists who currently live and work in the city, and who have a strong national or international presence. Examples of artists include: Angus Taylor; Berco Wilsenach; Carla Crafford; Cobus Haupt; Daandrey Steyn; Diane Victor; Dylan Graham; Eric Duplan; Frank Marshall; Frikkie Eksteen; Guy Du Toit; Ian Redelinghuys; Jan van der Merwe ; Johan Thom; Lawrence Lemoana; Rina Stutzer; Sarel Petrus; Setlamorago Mashilo; Thabo Pitso and Vusi Beauchamp.

Inspired by the potential of Pretoria as a creative hotbed, the gallery has subsequently launched an exhibition programme, titled ‘Young Collectors’. The aim of this exhibition programme is to provide a platform for younger artists who are the next generation of torchbearers for artists to follow. The exhibition is curated every annually.

View past exhibitions held in the Collector’s Room